Does Gatsby Need A Friend?

Over the last week or so I have had a few people ask me about Gatsby and how he’s doing, this was pry brought up by me opening up on Facebook about how I feel my pets aren’t doing the best and how I want to give them their larger cages back and get them some new toys and things to help.

I was touched by all of the recommendations given to me, but the one about Gatsby having a friend stopped me dead in my tracks.

Hedgehogs are solitary animals, for the most part. Sometimes females from the same litter are able to be kept together without issue, but if you have two males it becomes a battle of territory.

Gatsby being a modelIf two males were put in the same area, even if they are brothers, they would battle for territory and pry end up wounding or killing one another in the process. As for a female, well I really don’t want babies and to neuter Gatsby would be too expensive and risky to even think about doing that.

Although I can agree that Gatsby needs some new toys and a larger cage I’m not going to say that he needs a friend, simply because I’m worried about his health.

Have you ever kept to hedgehogs? Let me know your story in the comments below!

See you soon,

Amanda

Leave a Reply

