Vineger?!?!?!?

I’ve never really mentioned this on my blog, but I thought of it over the weekend while I was talking to Kurt about the “Deep Clean” for my pets that will be going on this weekend.

This weekend Lucia’s cage is getting a Deep Clean, which means that Gatsby is getting a deep clean, which means I’m going to have to clean my tub before my roommate or I use it.

So, how do I do a deep clean? Why is this post titled Vinegar?

Stay with me here, let’s keep going.

Deep Clean: when you really clean your pet’s cage using a disinfectant a few times and cleaning toys, wheels, and everything else that you would need to disinfect.

12916092_10204214672406716_3051531928162608085_oGatsby’s Deep Clean

When I do a deep clean with Gatsby’s cage it is wiping out the chloroplast, wheel, igloo, tubes, and dishes with Vineger. Don’t get me wrong, I do the wheel and dishes every week, but the tubes and the chloroplast I only wipe down once a month because they don’t really get dirty and other time. I will also throw away Gatsby’s litter tray and give him a new one.

The other thing that I do is I will take all of Gatsby’s fleeces and wash them once on Heavy Duty and once on Allergan. I do this just to make sure that anything that is in or on the fleeces is out.

Lucia’s Deep Clean

12622461_10203827209480385_7545550443629759213_oLucia’s cage gets cleaned every three weeks, and that’s typically when I do a deep clean because it is part of how I clean her cage every time. I use Vinegar to wipe out her cage and tubes to just disinfect everything and make sure that she is ok. Otherwise it’s just like a normal cage clean.

Vinegar.

So why vinegar? Well, first because I don’t have money for expensive pet safe cleaners, and second because I actually life to use natural products as much as possible. Vinegar is a natural disinfectant that actually leaves a little bacteria.

Yes, that sounds nasty, but it’s actually really good for your to have some bacteria so that you don’t get sick. It’s something about being exposed to bacteria so that your body is accustomed to it or something. (Here’s and article that I found by a Google search)

So that’s what I’m up to this weekend. What about you? Let me know down below!

See you soon,

Amanda

Leave a comment