Kaytee Bedding Review

So if you don’t know about Lucia’s recent adventures she went with her dad (Kurt) to his house for winter break. Of course Kurt and I totally underestimated what he would need and he had to get more bedding from the store. He picked up some Kaytee Clean and Cozy Bedding which he had seen in my apartment before and believed that I had normally bought that.

That is not what I normally buy, so I decided to review it.

Alright so the Kaytee bedding comes in a variety of colors and is an off brand of Carefreash. it is cheaper and is actually sold in trays to fit the Crittertrail cages to make cleaning easier. My roommate buys this for her hamster, sprout, and as far as I know doesn’t go through it at an insane rate.

So what are my thoughts?

Well, overall I give the product three out of five stars. I feel like it does do it’s job but it doesn’t go beyond that. It doesn’t hold up very well once dirty, but it is very obvious which parts of it are soiled.

I’ve also found that it doesn’t hold much of a burrow when Lucia attempts to dig in it. To me this is problematic because I’m afraid that she won’t be able to find her food again, even though I know that she is more than capable of doing so. I’ve also found that everything sort of falls into the bedding so all of her toys, her wheel, her food dish, are all buried so that all you see is the white bedding.

I also find that compared to carefresh this bedding likes to get stuck to things and travel around my apartment so that I have to vacuum a lot.

For the price, though it’s much better than what I thought it would be and it does great in a pinch or when it’s mixed with other beddings.

I do plan on using this up by mixing it with carefresh and aspen shavings and I find that this way it does hold a burrow and works a little better. I also find that this doesn’t make as much of a mess.

So yeah, 3/5 because it does it’s main job well but if you can afford another step up to the All Living Things bedding or Carefresh I would do that.

See you soon,

Amanda

Leave a Reply

